Published by Chicken House

I have only relatively recently started my blog in earnest. I am, I suppose a cautious beast – particularly since some person destroyed my computer some while ago – which meant I lost a lot of work and photographs. What particularly angered me, though wasn’t so much the loss, I think, (though that still makes me grind my teeth), but the fact they got absolutely nothing from it. Nothing at all*.

This books is essentially about the responsibility we have when using blogs and similar social media. This time, its not the teenager who is abusing the social niceties – it is Scarlet’s mother. She is doing what all parents do – talking about her daughter. What she has done. What she hasn’t done. What she eats. What she doesn’t. The fact that she went out. That she didn’t. What her gym kit smells like at the end of a day of sports. The difference is that all of it is on Scarlet’s mum’s blog, along with photographs to make it more interesting.

Scarlet is beginning to retreat – to disappear, when she investigates a noise from the house next door and finds a cat, an empty house, a modern kitchen and a cook book…

This is a wonderful read about friendship, responsibilities and families…a lovely book to snuggle down with.

* I must admit though to having had two witches in my ancestry. I like to think that those who do such things are cursed – after all I must have inherited something from those two ladies.

I may never know what has happened to the computer abusers, but then again, they never knew the trouble and distress they caused me.

It still happened though, so you never know…

 

 

