Published by Hodder and Stoughton

Not yet published at going to post: October

I once visited Ecuador where they still sell shrunken heads! Though those now sold, they said, are replicas of the originals. My friend wanted to buy one to hang like furry die from her car mirror…so she could curse other drivers… I think she decided against it in the end… The history of these is very curious. There are a large number of curious entries on Google on the subject…

I digress, a little – this is a wonderful romp of a book. Set in America, and the proof I read had many American terms, including American English language, if you understand me. I’m afraid I don’t know whether they will publish the book with ‘the Queen’s English’ for want of a better term – but the volume I read was distinctly American in flavour.

The Curiosity House is a museum, of all things curious, including the people who work within the building amongst the exhibits. When a newly purchased, notorious and highly valued shrunken is stolen, and people die the four extraordinary children who live in the museum begin to set aside their differences to try to solve the mysteries…

It was superb. It also had some lovely illustrations, that I hope will be transferred to the finished books…

Wonderful characters, and a nicely dark plot. Enjoy it!

