Published by Egmont / ISBN 978 1405276177

I loved this – a traditional crime mystery. This seems to be a new genre for the 9 – 12 age group, and a small number have been published. This though is the most atmospheric and also intricate tale. Set in an emporium much like Selfridges, or Harrod’s. I worked in the Waterstone’s branch in Harrods for 15 odd years and it was remarkable how this tale of theft, murder and general mayhem took  me back – I felt that Katherine Woodfine had probably worked there.

Brilliant fun, and a beautifully complex murder story – the best of this new genre for younger readers so far. I am pleased to report that there is to be a second in the series, to be published this September (2015) – The Mystery of the Jewelled Moth. If it is anything like as good as this I think Katherine Woodfine is on to a very good thing. I will look forward to reading that too.

