Published by Bloomsbury / ISBN 9781408827140 / Teenage / Adult

I suppose books about cancer are not everyone’s cup of tea. The Fault in our Stars by John Green, however, has had a phenomenal following. If someone has read just one of his books, it seems to have been that one. They even made a film about it.

I admit, when I read it I cried. After all it is an emotional book. The way in which the characters deal with the situation, is very American – which I suppose isn’t surprising, (John Green is an American author) however, perhaps it was that, which made the book slightly less forceful for me than Anthem for Jackson Dawes.

I started this at work, and carried it home. Late in the evening, I found myself awake and thought I would read a little more. Amongst other superb vignettes within this captivating plot, it has the most accurate description of waking from an anaesthetic I have ever read – slightly disconcerting.

Not long afterwards I realised I had to stop. I was crying so hard, I had begun to feel I couldn’t stop, and was having difficulty breathing properly. Pakka (my cat) walked up the bed and looked at me closely and curiously and then rubbed her head against me, which made her more than a little wet and grimy. It was at that point I realised I had to put the book down, get out of bed, wash my face and hands, blow my nose and remind myself that this was a book.

My mother said she thought I had reacted as I had as I have also had surgery and treatment for cancer, perhaps this is so, however, this was also the case when I read The Fault in our Stars.

This is an emotional book. A book though, that doesn’t result in an emotional response, whether tears or worry for a character, or laughter and joy, is rather a dull volume. Even worse than one that doesn’t have any pictures.

Read and enjoy both – they are both of the same genre – but oh so different!

